Looking Back at 2011.


What an interesting year it’s been.  This year I went to Austria for a week, then I had three weeks on the Isles of Scilly in Cornwall.  In August we brought our caravan across from Holland to Lydford Caravan Club site on the edge of Dartmoor and in November I was in London for the RNA Winter Party before going to Brussels where I had my purse stolen.

I love travel. it has always played a major part in my life.   Many years ago I found myself in Angola around 1974 when the war first broke out. A few weeks ago I was counting up the number of countries I have visited in my life and the total will soon be 32.  I am sure you will agree that’s quite a few.

So what do I have planned for 2012?  Well, my husband is going to be sixty on 27 January and we wanted somewhere warm to have a holiday.  After searching all the brochures we came up with the Cape Verde Islands off the coast of Senegal in West Africa.  We will visit the island of Sal at the main resort of Santa Maria.  The island looks very unspoilt, but I do fear if we leave it too long it might turn out to be like the Spanish resorts and I wonder how the water supply will cope as the island is very small.  Anyway we have yet to find out. Photos to follow soon. I hope our encounters will be with whales and birds and we hope to meet the organiser of the turtle project.  It should be a good trip and will probably remind me of my days in Angola as Cape Verde is a Portuguese speaking country too.

So I wish everyone who has supported me in my writing this year a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year especially to all members of the Romantic Novelists Association and to Cornerstones Literary Consultancy who have advised me through the months on the progress of my novel ‘Goodbye Henrietta Street.’  The book is now in the process of the final edits and my plan is to start submitting to agents in 2012.

Thanks everyone and may 2012 bring us all a better outlook on the current climate.

Leave a comment

Filed under Travel, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

